Skip to main content
Lux OnlineHomeThemesArtistsWorkEducationEducationToursHelpSearch

Public Face Private Eye

Ian Breakwell
5 Programmes Colour Broadcast
Analogue products for Channel 4.

Public Face Private Eye

A narrative in five acts, portraying formative events in Ian Breakwell's life that shed light on his concerns as an artist.

Broadcast on Channel 4 in 1991, the five acts together present a narrative on the interplay between the public world of surface appearance and social roles, and the private world of the imagination.

The five programmes in the series were Buried Alive, The Fence at Forbes, Keep Things as They Are, The House of the Deaf Man and lastly Mask to Mask.

Go to top of                             page